Hamilton makes it seven in seven

McLaren driver, Lewis Hamilton earned his first Formula One win of the 2012 season in Montreal

Published: June 11, 2012, 5:00 PM

Lewis Hamilton wins 2012 Canadian GP

Continuing the unprecedented pattern that has defined the 2012 Formula One season so far, Lewis Hamilton became the seventh different winner in as many races when he drove his McLaren-Mercedes to his first victory of the year in Montreal on Sunday.

It was Hamilton's third victory at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

As has also become the norm, success in the race hinged largely on tire strategy and management, as the front runners fell back in the final stages, letting Hamilton through for the win, followed by Lotus-Renault's Romain Grosjean in second and Sauber's Sergio Perez in third.

The win put Hamilton, who has been consistently strong if not the winner in prior races, into the points lead in the World Championship with 88 points.

Fernando Alonso, who finished fourth in Montreal, remains second (86), followed by Sebastian Vettel (85) Mark Webber (79) and Nico Rosberg (67) – all of whom have won races in 2012.

Hamilton qualified and started second, behind Red Bull driver, Vettel. He passed Vettel and then-leader Alonso by means of a quicker first pit stop. Unlike Vettel and Alonso, who started third, Hamilton's strategy included a second stop for fresh tires late in the race while the other two soldiered on with just one stop.

The McLaren driver made good use of the better grip provided by his fresh rubber to pass the leaders late in the race. Grosjean and Perez, who stopped just once but stretched their tire-life longer, also got past Vettel and Alonso in the closing stages of the race.

Alonso, who stayed out on old tires, dropped back to fifth, after being passed for fourth by Vettel, who gave in to the inevitable and stopped for fresh tires with six laps to go.

Nico Rosberg's Mercedes finished sixth, ahead of Vettel’s teammate and Monaco winner, Mark Webber. Lotus’s Kimi Raikkonen, Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi and Ferrari’s Felipe Massa rounded out the top 10.

The next F1 race is the European Grand Prix in Valencia, Spain, on June 24.