Hat-trick for Mercedes-Benz at World Car Awards

Mercedes-Benz C-Class is overall World Car of the Year for 2015

Published: April 3, 2015, 12:45 AM
Updated: June 7, 2015, 9:56 AM

NEW YORK, NY – The Mercedes-Benz C-Class is the 2015 World Car of the Year, beating out the Ford Mustang and Volkswagen Passat for the top honour. It was revealed as the winner in a ceremony at the New York International Auto Show today.

The C-Class was chosen from an initial entry list of 24 vehicles from all around the world, then a short list of twelve, then the three finalists,.

Dr. Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of the Board of Management of Daimler AG and head of Mercedes-Benz Cars said, "The C-Class... embodies what we understand modern automotive luxury made by Mercedes-Benz to be and has all the prerequisites to be a huge success. Accordingly we are extremely delighted of winning the honour of World Car of the Year.”

Two other Daimler vehicles won awards in two other categories at the eleventh annual World Car Awards, while BMW and Citroen claimed the other two titles that were up for grabs.

The Mercedes-Benz S-Class Coupe took the World Luxury Car title, ahead of the BMW i8 and the Range Rover Autobiography LWB. And the Mercedes-AMG GT won the World Performance Car title, over the BMW M3/M4 and the Jaguar F-Type R Coupe.

BMW's i8 prevailed as the World Green Car for 2015, besting the Mercedes-Benz S-Class Plug-in Hybrid and Volkswagen Golf GTE.

Citroen claimed the World Car Design prize with its polarizing C4 Cactus, ahead of the BMW i8 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class. It's the second win for the Citroen brand in the design category and the sixth time in ten years that it has placed a top-three finalist for that award.

Mercedes-Benz previously won the inaugural 2014 World Luxury Car award for the S-Class. The company has also won two World Green Car awards:  one for the S 250 CDI BlueEfficiency in 2012 and for the Mercedes-Benz E320 Bluetec in 2007.

To be eligible for the overall World Car award, the candidates must become available for sale on at least two continents during the period beginning January 1, 2014 and ending May 31, 2015.

Vehicles are selected and voted on by an international jury panel comprised of 75 top-level automotive journalists from 22 countries around the world.  Each juror was appointed by the World Car Steering Committee on the basis of his or her expertise, experience, credibility, and influence. 

Each juror typically drives and evaluates new vehicles on a regular basis as part of their professional work. Through their respective outlets they collectively reach an audience of many millions world-wide. The international accounting firm KPMG tabulates the jurors’ ballots.

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Audi A3 (2014), the Volkswagen Golf (2013), the Volkswagen Up! (2012), the Nissan Leaf (2011), the Volkswagen Polo (2010, the Volkswagen Golf (2009), the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio (2008), the Lexus LS460 (2007), the BMW 3-Series (2006), and the Audi A6 (2005).