New Cars

Jaguar F-Pace is double World Car Awards winner

F-Pace takes 2017 World Car of the Year and World Car Design of the Year trophies

World Car Awards 2017

NEW YORK, NY: The Jaguar F-Pace was the big winner at the World Car Awards presentation at the opening of the New York International Auto Show today, claiming both the World Car of the Year and  World Car Design of the Year trophies.

it's the second World Car Design award for Jaguar as the F-Type took the same honour in 2013.

It is the first time in the World Car Awards 12-year history that a crossover/SUV has won the overall title – a sure thing this year as the other two finalists were the Audi Q5 and Volkswagen Tiguan.

Dr Ralf Speth, CEO of Jaguar Land Rover, who was on hand to accept the awards, said: "The F-PACE was designed and engineered as a performance SUV with exceptional dynamics, everyday usability and bold design. Winning these two awards endorses the talent and great work of our teams that have delivered the world’s most practical sports car and Jaguar's fastest selling vehicle.”

Ian Callum, Director of Design, Jaguar, said: “The F-PACE is our first ever SUV but it is clearly recognizable as a Jaguar and for it to win the 2017 World Car Design of the Year trophy vindicates our decision to bring our unique design principles and dynamic qualities to a new sector of the market.”

The winners of four other awards were also revealed:

World Luxury CarMercedes-Benz E-Class; runners-up BMW 5-Series and Volvo S90/V90.

World Performance CarPorsche Boxster/Cayman; runners-up, Audi R8 and McLaren 570S.

World Urban CarBMW i3 (94Ah); runners-up, Citroen C3 and Suzuki Ignis.

World Green CarToyota Prius Prime; runner-up, Chevrolet Bolt.

Candidate vehicles for this year’s awards were selected and voted on by an international jury panel comprised of 75 top-level automotive journalists from 23 countries around the world. 

Each juror was appointed by the World Car Steering Committee on the basis of his or her expertise, experience, credibility, and influence.  Each juror typically drives and evaluates new vehicles on a regular basis as part of their professional work and through their respective outlets they collectively reach an audience of multiple millions world-wide. The international accounting firm KPMG tabulates the jurors’ secret ballots, which assess the vehicles on a broad range of parameters..

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Mazda MX-5 (2016), Mercedes-Benz C-Class (2015), the Audi A3 (2014), the Volkswagen Golf (2013), the Volkswagen Up! (2012), the Nissan Leaf (2011), the Volkswagen Polo (2010, the Volkswagen Golf (2009), the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio (2008), the Lexus LS460 (2007), the BMW 3-Series (2006), and the Audi A6 (2005).
2017 marks the 11th anniversary of the partnership between World Car and the New York International Auto Show, and the fourth consecutive year that the World Car Awards have retained their ranking as the number one automotive awards program in the world in terms of media reach.

The winners were announced during a press conference hosted by the New York International Auto Show, Bridgestone Corporation and Autoneum.

New Cars | Auto Awards | Auto Industry


<p>Buick&rsquo;s new 2018 Enclave is serenity on wheels</p>
FIRST DRIVE: Buick’s new 2018 Enclave is serenity on wheels

Buick calls the Enclave “attainable luxury,” which is to say it’s not overpriced

<p>2018 Kia Stinger</p>
FIRST DRIVE: What makes the 2018 Kia Stinger GT so special?

Gorgeous new Korean luxury sport sedan punches well above its weight and status

<p>2017 Lincoln Continental</p>
FIRST DRIVE: 2017 Lincoln Continental focuses on luxury

The all-new Continental paces Lincoln’s renaissance as a prestige luxury brand