Jaguar F-Type feted for design

New Jaguar sports car wins World Car Design award for 2013

Published: April 1, 2013, 7:00 AM
Updated: April 29, 2018, 3:54 PM

Jaguar F-Type - 2013 World Car Design award winner

The Jaguar F-Type emerged the winner of the World Car Design award for 2013 at a press conference hosted last week by the New York International Auto Show.

It was a noteworthy achievement given that the other two finalists were the Aston Martin Mazda6 – both gorgeous and extremely well-executed designs in their own right.

Voted on by the 66-member World Car jury, with jurors hailing from 23 countries around the world, the F-Type's win was more than just a popularity contest.

Before going to the jury for the final vote, an initial entry list of 43 candidates was pared down to a short list of five by a design panel of five highly respected world design experts, which included:

Masatsugu Arimoto (Japan – Freelance design journalist)

Silvia Baruffaldi (Italy – Auto & Design magazine)

Gernot Bracht (Germany – Pforzheim Design School)

Sam Livingstone (U.K. - Car Design Research and Royal College of Art)

Tom Matano (USA - School of Industrial Design at Academy of Art University in San Francisco).

Their task was to identify and highlight new vehicles with innovation and style that push established boundaries to be considered in the final voting.

Among their comments on the F-Type's design:

"The long wheelbase, short overhangs and flared fenders give this car a good stance. The contour in plan view tapered toward the door emphasizes the muscular rear fender that houses the driven wheels."

"The sideview is dominated by muscular rear fenders; the front end is a careful evolution of the XK."



"The interior design is even more attractive. It is clearly driver-oriented, and a grip bar for the passenger is nicely integrated into the big center console. The seat design is superb, too.

Connenting on the award, Ian Callum, Jaguar's director of design, said: "No design project has given me greater pleasure than the creation of the F-Type. The F-Type is a sports car that is true to Jaguar's design values – beauty of line and purity of form – and I'm honoured that the World Car of the Year Design jury has recognized our work with this award."

Previous winners of the World Car Design of the Year award were the Range Rover Evoque in 2012, the Aston Martin Rapide in 2011, the Chevrolet Camaro in 2010, the Fiat 500 in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi TT in 2007 and the Citroen C4 in 2006.

Now in their ninth year, the annual World Car awards have become one of the world’s most prestigious, credible and significant programs of its kind.