Marc Lachapelle is AJAC Automotive Journalist of the Year

Autofile contributors claim seven awards at AJAC’s annual Journalism Awards ceremony

Published: October 26, 2017, 9:45 AM
Updated: November 21, 2021, 3:06 PM

2017 AJAC Journalism Awards - Marc Lachapelle (R) accepts 2017 AJAC Journalist of the Year award from John Lindo, Public Relations Manager, Jaguar Land Rover Canada.

Ajax, ON – Marc Lachapelle, a long-time contributor to Autofile, was named winner of this year’s Automotive Journalist of the Year award at last night’s annual AJAC (Automobile Journalists Association of Canada) Journalism Award ceremonies.

Lachapelle, who was the first editor of the MSN Autos Canada website, among many other career laurels, joins an elite group of three other three-time winners of this prestigious award, presented by Jaguar Land Rover Canada, having won it previously in 1994 and 2005 and finishing in the top three an incredible seven times.

“The entries this year were outstanding and the judges had a true challenge and joy reading the submissions. Mark Lachapelle was a worthy winner of his third JLR AJAC Journalist of the year award," commented John Lindo, Public Relations Manager for Jaguar Land Rover Canada.

The award, inaugurated in 1984, aims to “reward excellence in automotive journalism” and has been sponsored by Jaguar Land Rover Canada since its inception. A variety of submissions are considered for the award including feature stories, car reviews, general editorial opinion, personal style, and mastery of the subject for all types of media – print, television, radio and internet.

An elite panel of judges takes into consideration the ‘body of work’ of a journalist, as four individual entries for each journalist are grouped together for judging. One of Lachapelle’s winning entries, which included articles in both English and French, was: “Is Jaguar’s four-cylinder F-Type a sacrilege? We find out,” published on and MSN Autos Canada.

Another regular Autofile contributor, Mark Toljagic, was runner-up for the Journalist of the Year award, having won it previously himself in 2007 and finishing in the top three four times. His winning submissions this year included "Family Vacation Test of Chrysler Pacifica minivan," published on and MSN Autos Canada. Toljagic also won the Wakefield Award for Auto Reviews and was runner-up for the Wakefield Award for Technical Topics. That award was claimed by Mark Richardson, another regular Autofile contributor , and Autofile contributor Stephanie Wallcraft won two awards – the CAA Road Safety Award and the Nissan Environmental Journalism Award.

Congratulations to all the winners!