Marc Lachapelle is Canadian Automotive Journalist of the Year

Autofile contributor is the only four-time winner of prestigious writing award

Published: October 31, 2019, 11:55 AM
Updated: November 4, 2019, 9:56 PM

Marc LaChapelle - 2019 Canadian Automotive Journalist of the Year - Marc LaChapelle (R) was presented with the 2019 Canadian Automotive Journalist of the Year award by John Lindo of Jaguar Land Rover Canada.

Regular Autofile contributor Marc Lachapelle is the 2019 winner of the Canadian Automotive Journalist of the Year award. It’s the fourth time he has won those laurels, making him the only four-time winner of this prestigious award. His previous wins came in 2017, 2005, and 1994.

The winner was announced and the award presented at the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada’s (AJAC) 36th Annual Automotive Journalism Awards ceremony, held in Ajax, Ontario on October 29, 2019.

The AJAC Journalist of the Year award was inaugurated in 1984 by John Mackie, past president of Jaguar Canada, to "reward excellence in automotive journalism" and it has been presented, first by Jaguar Canada, then Jaguar Land Rover Canada, for the past 36 years.

The winner is selected on the basis of blind judging of a body of work produced over the past year, by an independent panel of journalism experts.

One of the submissions in Lachapelle’s body of work was “Canadian-built ‘Fat Truck’ will take you anywhere,” published by Autofile on February 28, 2019. His other submissions were in French as he is fluently bilingual.

Canadian-built 'Fat Truck' - Go anywhere 'Fat Truck' will be built by Zeal Motor Inc. in former Hyundai plant in Bromont, QC.

Lorraine Sommerfeld, also a past winner, was runner-up for this year’s top award.

John Lindo, Director, Marketing & PR, Jaguar Land Rover Canada commented: "It's always a privilege to see the work of the entrants for this award as it is the highest calibre of automotive writing. It was no surprise that Lorraine and Marc were honoured tonight as they are two of the best in the business. Congratulations to both."

They were among 11 of the country's most respected automotive journalists recognized for their achievements at the AJAC Automotive Journalism Awards ceremony, presented by CarGurus.

Autofile contributors Mark Toljagic and Stephanie Wallcraft also won awards. The full list of awards and recipients is as follows:

AJAC Journalist of the Year presented by Jaguar Land Rover Canada

Winner: Marc Lachapelle
Runner-Up: Lorraine Sommerfeld

Wakefield Castrol Awards for Automotive Writing

Technical Topics
Winner: Justin Pritchard
Runner-Up: Lesley Wimbush

Vehicle Review/Testing
Winner: Justin Pritchard
Runner Up: Kathy Renwald

Feature Writing Award presented by Subaru Canada

Winner: Marc Toljagic
Runner Up: Lorraine Sommerfeld

Environmental Journalism Award presented by Nissan Canada

Winner: Jil McIntosh
Runner Up: Marc Lachapelle

Photography Award presented by Kia Canada

Winner, Published: Evan Williams
Winner, Unpublished: Russell Purcell

Road Safety Journalism Award Presented by CAA

Winner: Mark Toljagic
Runner Up: Justin Pritchard

Best Video Journalism Award presented by General Motors of Canada

Winner: Justin Pritchard
Runner Up: William Clavey

Land Rover Defender Adventure Writing Award

Winner: Lesley Wimbush
Runner Up: Mark Toljagic

Business Writing Award presented by Kal Tire

Winner: Lorraine Sommerfeld

The Julie Wilkinson Motorsport Journalism Award presented by Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Winner: Stephanie Wallcraft

The Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC) is an association of professional journalists, writers, photographers, and corporate members whose focus is the automobile and the Canadian automotive industry.