World Car Awards short-lists announced

Top three in four categoris to be revealed at Geneva auto show

Published: February 1, 2013, 8:00 AM
Updated: November 22, 2021, 3:59 PM

The World Car of the Year Awards organization has announced short-lists of second-round nominees in four categories – 2013 World Car of the Year, World Performance Car, World Green Car and World Car Design.

The three finalists in each category will be revealed at the Geneva Motor Show on March 5 and the winners will be announced at the New York International Auto Show on March 28.

A jury of sixty-six 66 international automotive journalists votes on the awards. They comprise a balance of representation from Asia, Europe and the U.K., North America, Russia and other parts of the world.

The short-listed finalists in each category are:

2013 World Car of the Year

Audi A3

Land Rover Range Rover


Mazda CX5

Mercedes-Benz A-Class

Peugeot 208

Porsche Boxster / Cayman

Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota GT 86 / Toyota 86

Volkswagen Golf

Volvo V40

2013 World Performance Car

Aston Martin Vanquish

Audi RS 5

BMW M6 Coupe / Convertible

BMW M 135i

Ferrari F12 Berlinetta

Mercedes-Benz SL 63 AMG

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Roadster

Porsche Boxster / Cayman

Renault Clio Sport

Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota GT 86 / Toyota 86

2013 World Green Car

Renault Zoe

smart Electric Drive

Tesla Model S

Volkswagen Jetta Hybrid

Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid Diesel

(NOTE: The short list of World Green Car was selected by five experts in "green" technology, from five different countries, prior to final voting by the 66 WCA jurors.)

2013 World Car Design of the Year

Aston Martin Vanquish

Renault Clio

Jaguar F-Type

Land Rover Range Rover

Mazda 6

Volkswagen Golf

(NOTE: The short list of World Car was selected by a a design panel of five highly respected automotive design experts from around the world, prior to final voting by the 66 WCA jurors.)

The jurors’ next step is to evaluate the short-listed vehicles for a final round of voting, by secret ballot, later this month. The overall World Car of the Year award will be based on separate scoring for overall merit, value, safety, environmental responsibility, emotional appeal, and significance.

Votes are compiled and maintained confidential by the international accounting firm KPMG until they are announced.

The World Car Awards were officially launched in January 2004, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace as well as to recognize and reward automotive excellence on an international scale.

They are intended to complement, rather than compete with, existing national and regional Car of the Year programs.

The awards are administered by a non-profit association, under the guidance of a Steering Committee of automotive journalists from Asia, Europe, and North America. Peter Lyon (Japan) and Matt Davis (Italy) are the co-chairs; John McCormick (USA), Jens Meiners (Germany), Mike Rutherford (U.K.), Eddie Alterman (USA), and Gerry Malloy (Canada) are directors.

Previous World Car of the Year winners include the Volkswagen Up! (2012), the Nissan LEAF (2011), the Volkswagen Polo (2010), the Volkswagen Golf (2009), the Mazda2/Mazda Demio (2008), the Lexus LS460 (2007), the BMW 3-Series (2006) and the Audi A6 (2005).