World Car Design award to be presented in New York

What do the Mazda6, Aston Martin Vanquish and Jaguar F-Type have in common?

Published: March 24, 2013, 2:00 AM
Updated: April 29, 2018, 3:21 PM

Mazda's mid-size Mazda6 sedan finds itself in lofty company this week, sharing the spotlight with the Aston Martin Vanquish and Jaguar F-Type sports cars as the three finalists for the 2013 World Car Design award.

With design the sole focus of this award, these unlikely real-world competitors are on common ground and in a legitimate competiton.


A jury of 66 top automotive journalists from around the world selects the finalists and the winner each year, based on a short list compiled by an international panel of design experts.

Those experts are: Masatsugu Arimoto (Japan), Silvia Baruffaldi (Italy), Gernot Bracht (Germany), Sam Livingstone (UK) and Tom Matano (United States).

The winner will be announced at a press conference at the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, March 28.

At the same time, the 2013 World Green Car, World Performance Car and overall World Car of the Year will also be announced. Finalists for those awards are:

World Green Car

- Renault Zoe

- Tesla Model S

- Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid

World Performance Car

- Ferrari F12 Berlinetta

- Porsche Boxster / Cayman

- Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota GT 86

World Car of the Year

- Mercedes-Benz A-Class

- Porsche Boxster / Cayman

- Scion FR-S / Subaru BRZ / Toyota 86 / GT 86

- Volkswagen Golf

The World Car Awards were launched in January 2004 and have been presented annually since then, to reflect the reality of the global marketplace and to recognize and reward automotive excellence on an international scale.

They are administered by a non-profit association, under the guidance of a Steering Committee of prominent automotive journalists from Asia, Europe and North America. Theawards are not affiliated with or influenced by any publication, auto show, automaker, or other commercial enterprise.